Myanmar (formerly Burma)


Country NameRepublic of the Union of Myanmar
Short NameMyanmar
Largest cityYangon
Official languagesBurmese
National LanguagesBurmese
ReligionBuddhism 87.9%, Christianity 6.2%, Islam 4.3%, Others 1.6%
Demonym(s)Burmese / Myanma
GovernmentUnitary assembly-independent constitutional republic
PresidentWin Myint
Vice PresidentMyint Swe
House SpeakerT Khun Myat
Chief JusticeHtun Htun Oo
Total Area676,578 km2 (261,228 sq mi)
Water (%)3.06
Total Land Area (%)655,874.71 km2
Population53,582,855 (2017 census)
GDP (PPP)$355 billion (2019 estimate)
GDP (Nominal)$66 billion (2019 estimate)
CurrencyKyat (K) (MMK)
Time zoneUTC+06:30 (MMT)
Date formatYYYY/MM/DD for Burmese calendar

DD/MM//YYYY for Gregorian calendar

Mains Electricity230 V – 50 Hz
Driving sideRight
Calling code+95
ISO 3166 codeMM
Political PartiesArakan Liberation Party

Arakan National Council

Chin National Front

Chin National Party

Independence Day4 January 1948
Tallest BuildingDiamond Inya Palace

Grand Park Hotel

Golden City Tower I

Golden City Tower II

Richest PersonsThein Sein

Khin Aung Myint

Tay Za

Htun Myint Naing












Was this helpful?

0 / 0

Spread the love
Leave a Reply 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *